Day 6: KWL - Reisverslag uit Toronto, Canada van Floor Swinkels - WaarBenJij.nu Day 6: KWL - Reisverslag uit Toronto, Canada van Floor Swinkels - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 6: KWL

Door: Floor Swinkels

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Floor

05 Augustus 2015 | Canada, Toronto

When I woke up this morning I Face timed with my family back home. It was really nice to see them and hear their voices again. Today we didn’t take the tram to Kobo, but we biked there. I think it’s really funny to bike in Canada, because you need to wear a helmet which is so weird for me.

Around 9:30, I went to the Big Data team. Inmar, she is a woman who is the Vice President of the team, explained me a bit about codes and how they arrange all their files and data. After I spend some time with her I went to Nazanin. She is a girl who also works in the Big Data team and she showed me a little bit how you read codes and stuff like that. For example, we picked a random code and we could see from which browser a purchase was done. After Nazanin, I went to Darius. When you go to the website of Kobo and are logged in with your account, you get some recommendations for you to read. Darius explained me how they come up with these books for every person. It was very interesting to see how things like that work.

After spending an hour at the Big Data team, I went to Jodi. She works for KWL, which stands for Kobo Writing Life. KWL gives authors the chance to publish their books by themselves. They can set their own price to it and earn between 45% and 70% of it. KWL also has a blog. The Kobo Writing Life blog contains articles on the craft and business of writing alongside author spotlights, technical eBook and KWL advice, and tips from traditional and indie published writers.

Jodi and I went to pick up my laptop. They gave a MacBook for me to work on, which is really cool. Too bad I can’t keep it :(

Jodi gave me a list of books and she said that I needed to check whether these books were on the website or not. That was very easy because I just had to type in the title of the book and see if it showed up. If it did show up, I had to write down the ISBN number, the publisher and the URL link to the book page. I was busy with that for quite a while because it were 120 books. It was a really nice task, which I enjoyed doing. I finished it about half an hour after I had lunch.

When I finished the booklist Jodi had another task for me. She told me that the KWL team has a magazine and she already had an interview with an author, except it was just a word document with the questions and the answers. So, she gave me the task to give it a nice lay out and to edit it in such a way that it is a suitable article. While I was working on that, Ben came by and showed me a picture he crafted with the photos I made where the e-reader was covered with fruit. It came out really good. He also told me that he used another #QOTD I came up with.

Later that night, after we had dinner, we went to Sam’s mom and her husband. It was very nice to meet them. They are both very kind and lovely persons.

After a very busy day I was happy that I could go to bed :)

  • 08 Augustus 2015 - 21:48

    Tante Do:

    Hoi Floor,

    Wat leuk om je ervaringen mee te lezen! Heel gaaf allemaal! Veel plezier met z'n allen in de cottage.

    X

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Canada, Toronto

Buitenland stage

Ik ga stage lopen bij Kobo

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Augustus 2015

Day 25 and 26: Back in Toronto

14 Augustus 2015

Day 12, 13 and 14

12 Augustus 2015

Day 10 and 11

10 Augustus 2015

Day 9: Cottage time

07 Augustus 2015

Day 8: Last day at Kobo already
Floor

Canadaaa

Actief sinds 11 Mei 2015
Verslag gelezen: 414
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3902

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2015 - 29 Augustus 2015

Buitenland stage

Landen bezocht: