Day 9: Cottage time - Reisverslag uit Parry Sound, Canada van Floor Swinkels - WaarBenJij.nu Day 9: Cottage time - Reisverslag uit Parry Sound, Canada van Floor Swinkels - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 9: Cottage time

Door: Floor Swinkels

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Floor

10 Augustus 2015 | Canada, Parry Sound

Right now we are at the cottage of my uncle and aunt. It is located in Georgian Bay. Georgian Bay is a large bay of Lake Huron, located entirely within Ontario, Canada. In the bay are a lot of small, but also some big islands on which people have built a cottage. The setting is beautiful, there is a lot of nature and many things to see. The cottage itself is on an island called Sherry Island. You can find a lot of animals on this island, like snakes, toads, mice and hummingbirds. I’ve already seen three snakes. When your lucky (or unlucky) you can also see a bear, but it is very rarely to see one. I do hope we see a bear in the time I am here. There are also some places where we can go blueberry or raspberry picking :).

This cottage has electricity, hot water and some Wi-Fi, which exceptional for most of the cottages. The first days I’ve been here, I slept together with Janne, Jane and Thomas on the same room. Since one day Janne and I went to stay in the small cabin. It is about 20 meters from the main house and there is a bedroom with a bathroom.

The water in the lake is a bit cold, but once you get used to it, it is very nice. I’ve swum in it one time, but when it gets hotter I will definitely go again. There is also a sauna on the island, when you get out of the sauna the water is very nice to cool down. Yesterday I went to take a sail with Pieter. It was very nice and fun. I’ve never been on a sailing boat before so it was a very fun experience! We sailed between all the small islands and the wind wasn’t too hard so we didn’t tip over. That night we had a very nice sunset, whereby the whole sky coloured orange and yellow.

Sometimes we take the boat to Sans Souci. Sans Souci is an island were a little supermarket is located. There is also a little ice cream bar in the supermarket, with flavors like Moose Tracks or Muskoka Mocha, they are very tasty! It takes 5-10 minutes on the boat to get there. Boats can also get their gas filled over there. Once a week we take the boat to Parry Sound. Parry Sound is the place where the ‘big’ harbor is located. We go there to do the big groceries. This takes about 45 minutes to get there.

I also saw that the Facebook page of Kobo added another post on which I helped. They posted the picture of the eReader covered with fruits. It is cool to see the things I did there are really used :)

Today the weather isn’t too great. It is very cloudy and the forecast for the upcoming hours is rain and maybe some thunder, but the temperature is still great. After I finish this blog, I am going to watch a movie with a cup of tea.

I really enjoy my time here at the cottage. This morning we baked some cookies and I also brought the stuff we need to make an appeltaart, which my cousins think is very tasty. We are still here for two more weeks and then we will be back in the city for one more week :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Canada, Parry Sound

Buitenland stage

Ik ga stage lopen bij Kobo

Recente Reisverslagen:

26 Augustus 2015

Day 25 and 26: Back in Toronto

14 Augustus 2015

Day 12, 13 and 14

12 Augustus 2015

Day 10 and 11

10 Augustus 2015

Day 9: Cottage time

07 Augustus 2015

Day 8: Last day at Kobo already
Floor

Canadaaa

Actief sinds 11 Mei 2015
Verslag gelezen: 177
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3895

Voorgaande reizen:

01 Augustus 2015 - 29 Augustus 2015

Buitenland stage

Landen bezocht: